twenty-thirteen

janaprilPicMonkey Collage
june
july
august
september
october
november
decemeberSometimes we get in our heads a view of ‘beauty’ or ‘good times’ that can wreck us. If we categorize beauty into something we’ve seen, we will never learn to see true beauty when it comes. 2013, in many ways, wasn’t as ‘beautiful’ as I would’ve imagined it to be. Yet the beauty I imagined was different than the beauty I found. You see, in other ways, it was the most beautiful year of my life. I’ve been reading through my journals of this year and I’ve seen so many failures, mistakes, and days where I wanted to hide away. I’ve seen my circumstance turn out all wrong and my response even worse. Yet I’ve also  seen my faith turn into something I never dreamed it could. I’m learning to truly understand the gift of grace I have been given, something I could not understand without first knowing the depths of my sin.  For every heart-ache this year, I’ve seen a greater love come into place. As John Kitchen once said, “God never asks us to forsake one thing without asking us to embrace something much better. And that, my friends, is beautiful.

Instead of making New Years resolutions, I’ve picked up the habits of making ‘one word’ resolutions. My one word for 2013 was ignite. I want to take the flames of passion I’ve had for life and ignite something. I wanted to photograph, I wanted to write, and I wanted to seek something great. I know I haven’t done everything I would have wanted a year ago but it’s been real. Over the past year, I’ve seen so much ignite inside of me.

My one word resolution for 2014 is steadfast. I want to be steadfast in faith and my lifestyle. I want 2014 to be the first year of the rest of my life. I want to start living – school-wise, personally-wise, adventure-wise, career-wise, writing-wise, heart-wise – the life I want to leave behind when I die. 2014, let’s begin.

One thought on “twenty-thirteen

Leave a Reply

