five.

“What they don’t understand about birthdays and what they never tell you is that when you’re eleven, you’re also ten, and nine, and eight, and seven, and six, and five, and four, and three, and two, and one… Like some days you might say something stupid, and that’s the part of you that’s still ten. Or maybe some days you might need to sit on your mama’s lap because you’re scared, and that’s the part of you that’s five. And maybe one day when you’re all grown up maybe you will need to cry like if you’re three, and that’s okay…Because the way you grow old is kind of like an onion or like the rings inside a tree trunk or like my little wooden dolls that fit one inside the other, each year inside the next on.” –  Sandra Cisneros

Seth’s reached the age where I actually can remember how it felt to be his age.

It’s funny what you remember about being five.

When it comes to just life, I remember being five quite well down to our puppet shows on over-turned tables or my Dad making us pancakes with faces on them. When it comes to school, I can’t tell you what actually we learned but I can recall the day we grew mustard seeds in class and it made one of my friends sick or I can still hear my teacher talking about she didn’t believe in the weather man.  I remember how my teacher gave us disposable cameras on the first day of Pre-K and I clearly can bring myself back to certain objects in the classroom like an empty Peanuts fruit snacks box.

Most of all, I remember the feelings of being five. I’ll never forget first feelings of embarrassment I felt  about some stuffed frog I had to bring home or the pride I felt when doing homework for the first time. When Seth does things, I’ve realized I’ve grown to understand him a bit more in remembering being five. When he says silly things, I’ve learned to try understand because I remember saying the same things. I guess that’s because there’s still a bit of five in me. Realizing this only makes me want to treasure what each year inside of me holds.

I’m thankful for all the little children in my life that have taught me what it is to be five again.

Leave a Reply

