The thing with photos + storytelling

IMG_2748

Every girl goes through  photography stage. Every girl dreams of being a photographer someday. In all, photography can be so very cliché.

I adore photography. After two years and two courses, I’ve realized that this isn’t a stage. It’s a passion of mine.

My goal is to be a photographer, but to form my own style and steer as far away from cliché as I can. I don’t just want to jump on the wagon of every trend. I don’t want to become discouraged by the small number of clients or the fact I can’t afford new gear right now. I want to let go of the burden of feeling like I need fancy editing programs or a nicer camera. Yes, I want these things but I don’t need to them to be a photographer. I want to do the best I can with my camera right now.

I’ve  decided my goal with photography is to tell stories. A story doesn’t need a fancy camera to be told, as much as a story doesn’t need a book to be heard. It’s gradual steps. I’m not quite to the higher steps yet, but I’m going to make the best of the view every step of the way.

I want to be a collector of stories. I really want my photo’s to spill and be worth a thousand words.

I want to tell the stories of people, in every chapter of their lives:

IMG_2833

I want to tell the stories of the smallest adventures:

IMG_3447

I want to tell the stories of my friends and those first spring golden hours:

IMG_1758-001

I want to tell the stories of those long days spent pouring over Physics:

IMG_2586

I want to tell the stories of night by campfires, where every breath we spoke was in praise:

IMG_1525

I want to tell the stories of the precious things and the littlest joys:

IMG_3730

I want to tell the stories of family dinners:

IMG_2590

I want to tell the stories of little boys and Dinsey World:

IMG_3139

I want to tell sometimes blurry stories of nights I’ll never tear from my memory:

IMG_3668

I want to tell stories of precious Christmas memories:

IMG_1490

I want to tell the stories of weddings + new beginnings:

IMG_2137

I want to tell the stories of everything, sometimes abstract just for fun:

IMG_2033

I want to tell stories of life, real and raw. I want the world to be my canvas, my camera my paint brush. I never want to give up, no matter what stage I am in, on capturing life.

Leave a Reply

