moments i felt most alive

IMG_5840

+One night when I escaped outside just to look at the stars, sitting in the yard of the Colorado house.

+Being engulfed by the summer watercolor sky, and waves touching my feet like the pure feel of the first winter snow. Sinking my feet into the sand, looking at the sunset, and feeling the first ache of homesick I’ve ever felt. I felt  so vulnerable.

+Running in the early mornings, the sunlight peaking in through the trees.

+Those mornings and night, sitting on the window seat, overlooking New York and memorizing the streets and blaze of cabs and people.

+Crying in a loft one morning at Advance, everything pushing down on my heart, and learning to trust with a peace like I have never known.

+Starring into the nighttime New York skyline from afar and taking in all the lights. All the people, all the dreams, all the memories in once glance.

+One sunset in DC that in a beautiful way taught me more of faithfulness.

+Sitting in the Orlando airport, people-watching. That way you learn a lot about life.

+One night by the campfire, the music of fellow saints ringing in my ears, listening to guitars lightly strumming in the rain.

+Dancing and twirling to Christmas songs in the lit up streets one December night with my family and complete strangers as snow blew over our heads.

+The mountain air filling my lungs and wiping much-needed tears from eyes. It was late at night, a full moon plastered in the sky, and stars peaking from the clouds. My bare feet hurting on the gravel road and feeling ultimate peace in my heart and soul.

That’s when I felt most alive, in both beautiful and frightening ways.

One thought on “moments i felt most alive

  1. 1. That photo is gorgeous. I keep scrolling up just to stare at it.
    2. You’ve been to New York?! WHY HAVE I NOT KNOW THIS. I’M EMAILING YOU AND YOU MUST TELL ME ABOUT IT.
    3. You’ve been a lot of places.
    4. this is a brilliant post idea.

Leave a Reply

