the message of stars

IMG_0553

Though my soul may set in darkness, it will rise in perfect light.

I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night. – (Sarah Williams).

Tonight, I grabbed a flashlight and went to the deck just to stare at the stars. I’m not sure what put the idea in my head, but I just did it. Stargazing has always been tucked deep in my soul as a part of my DNA. It always opens my eyes.

Like the first snow slowly falling down in winter, the stars sprinkle the sky. They just shine there in the darkness with no real purpose. But at the same time, stars form constellations we cannot see. As I was sitting there tonight, I felt a tug. I felt like the stars. Often shinning in a world of darkness, often slightly out-of-place, and often feeling if I have no purpose. But somewhere, there’s a plan-a constellation greater than my eyes can see. I just need to trust it’s there.

As I sat there, alone in the darkness, the faint starlight illuminating me, I feel an unfamiliar yet beautiful peace.

I was brought back to stargazing our last night in Colorado, where the stars were more clear. I sat there, on the porch, late into the night. I was so tired my eyelids were struggling to stay open, my body was sore, and I knew I needed sleep. But the stream was running softly and shooting stars were going across the sky like crazy. So I stayed up and prayed and dreamed.That was before I started my Freshman year and before five months of growing and learning. I was excited then, about the adventure I just finished over the summer and I was even more excited about the journey ahead of me in the fall. It’s funny to revisit my feelings back then, because time’s gone by and things have changed more than I dreamed sitting there that night.

Both then and tonight, as I looked to the stars I felt that strange peace. That knowing. That promise that there are far better things ahead than I ever left behind and that, like the stars, we need to shine because we know our lives are part of something greater.

One thought on “the message of stars

  1. That is so cool! Stargazing is among the most wonderful pastimes ever. It’s such an amazing awe-filled experience, when you take time to remember how big God is.

Leave a Reply

