The Greatest Adventure//2013

IMG_0300

IMG_0376

It’s 2013. It’s sort of sad for me, as I did love 2012 a lot. It was almost painful to turn the page from 2012 and move on. But of course time is something I unfortunately cannot stop. Yet as I woke us this morning, I don’t feel any different than I did two days ago. A year is just a number, like an age. It’s our actions that define change.

I have many goals for this year. I want to read at least 50 books, finish my current book, and attempt to get a small something published (even if it’s just a sentence). I want to treasure time more, I want to embrace the blessings of life, I want to be less angry, and live a more healthy lifestyle. I want to pursue my photography business. I want to go on a mission trip this summer, Lord willing. I want to be a better friend. I want to make more memories.

Tonight, I was thinking how fresh you feel in the beginning of January. You want to conquer mountains. You want to go on adventures. 2012 taught me life is an adventure. I know 2013 will be a year I shall understand this truth more.

Whether easy or hard, 2013 is going to be the greatest adventure. I want to embrace the adventure of life out there this year.Everyday I want to live an adventure in 2013. I want laughter to be constant. I want confusion and excitement to be one, as I take radical steps in any way God calls. In the midst of storms, I want to love those near to me stronger. I want every day to be remembered as beautiful, pain to be conquered by the light, and to watch happily ever afters happen. I want to hear the stories of those I know and those I will meet, and truly grow to understand the beauty of every life. In both pain and precious moments, I want to spend it with the people I love most–cherishing them, growing with them, and learning to love every bit of them. Sure, I want to embark on a million journeys with them, and see the world with them, and making memories….but no matter what happens this life is already the greatest adventure I could ever imagine. I want 2013 to teach me to embrace and adore the adventure of life. Whether in paradise, far off lands, caves of darkness, or our living room this life is the greatest journey I could ever take as long as it’s with the people I love most and seeking the truth. I want 2013 to be a beautiful story to live everything happily.

This new year adventure should be filled with times of being extremely thankful, awakenings of the Holy in my heart, cups of tea, late nights of just thinking, random Christmas dance parties with my family, favorite songs,  laughing so hard it hurts at things with my brother, beautiful photographs, long written stories with bittersweet endings, sleepovers with my little brother who giggles in his sleep, lots of road trips, surprises and joy,  books that make us cry and books that strum our heartstrings. Why? Because we can have these moments and should savor them. That’s one thing I want to do this year, too. Savor.

But away from all that, I remember 2012. I didn’t get many goals done. I didn’t do great things. But I still see it as the greatest year of my life. Probably because I let God take me away. I wasn’t always seeking Him the way I should’ve, yet He sought me out. He radically taught me the truth of the Gospel. So when I think of what I truly wish to accomplish, I have one true goal. Remain firm in this glorious Gospel, with my eyes fixed on Christ Jesus. Because just as grand 2013 shall be, I know it’s gonna be hard. Maybe I don’t know how hard. Maybe it’s going to better than I could imagine.

In all, whether I accomplish my goals or not, I want to strive to the greatest goal of all–living for Jesus Christ. Not towards the pleasure of this world, which is vain and has no use, but towards the one goal I could never reach…but he has already won.

In 2013, I pray God truly is my vision…not man’s empty praise. He is truly the one thing I wish for and I thank him for this short Adventure called life. Very soon, it shall be over and the one true life shall begin that is eternity.

My verse of 2013 was Ephesians 3:20-21:

 Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

I don’t know what he will do this year, but to Him be the glory!

2 thoughts on “The Greatest Adventure//2013

Leave a Reply

