Of Writing, Books, and Dreams…

My entire life’s been made up of stories. Whether I was a child, telling stories that went on for hours, a first grader writing little mini books with my brother, or me now writing on this blog and trying to write my first book…I have found a pure joy in telling stories. Maybe it was the amount of Disney movies or my head spent growing up in the world of Narnia. Maybe it was Dad who would draw me and my brother stories. Maybe it was my brother who sat with me and made up stories for hours at night. Whatever it was, it’s always been clear to me just what good storytelling is. I’ve learned that dreams can truly become stories that can take our minds to new places. All that storytelling has pressed one idea on my mind since I was old enough to write.

I want to be a writer.

I want to tell stories through my words. Not just writing now, but a real published author. I look forward to the days in which I shall (Lord willing) be a creative writing major in college and study in coffee shops and write. I dream of being a writer who can write as beautifully as Victor Hugo, and be as brilliant as JK Rowling. I’ve always wanted to tell stories of people. Every person has a story, real or fictional and I want to write to tell stories. Whether mysteries, fantasy, or realism…I want to write!

Writing, to me, is a way to show the themes of the world and the aspects of God. While the book I am writing right now or the books I have ideas for, are not about Christianity, every single story ever written points to the great story. Every story points to the darkness of the fallen world and the light of Christ, where the author realizes it or not. Every story has themes that can point to God. This is not limited to “Christian” books. Most of my favorite books are not really Christian books. I’m not saying they are against Christianity, they just aren’t about it. But even in these books, I can find the beauty of Jesus Christ in the pages whatever it may be about.

As I browse through book shops, I’m shocked how half the world doesn’t even know what true stories are. 90% of young adult fiction is about vampires, and futurist books about a God-less world. Those aren’t the stories that point to Christ in any way. I am so glad I choose not to read those. Those aren’t the stories we should be filling our heads with. Those aren’t the stories I want my kids to read one day. I want them to read books like Narnia, like I did. I want them to see the beauty in books, the Christian one and the non-Christians one, that teach good and evil. Not paranormal and futurist teenage love stories about moody teenage girls. No one should be filling their heads with that junk. In my writing, I hope to put redeeming, helpful themes in a good light. Those are the stories that stick with us, and shall always. That’s the way Narnia, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and even good ol’ Les Mis have stuck with me. While they aren’t exactly Christian books…you can see the good shining through. Those are the kind of stories I want to write.

I think it’s important to fill our hearts with good stories, to write them, to dream about them. For all the parents in the world, it’s your duty to invest truly amazing stories into your kids lives. My parents let me read Laura Ingalls books and watch Lion King over and over. I’m glad they didn’t let my watch Disney Channel and Cartoon Network and all those kid shows. Because of a childhood in Wonderland, I now want to become a writer and write true stories.

“Reading stays with you until the very end – after Narnia is gone, Lord Voldemort is dead and Alice is awake.”– Anonymous

“I like books that aren’t just lovely but that have memories in themselves. Just like playing a song, picking up a book again that has memories can take you back to another place or another time.”- Emma Watson

One thought on “Of Writing, Books, and Dreams…

  1. I so agree with your post! We have a ton of books in our home library ( including C.S.Lewis, Tolkien, George Macdonald etc.) and none of them are vampire ones. Perhaps that is why my 12 year old daughter wants to write a fiction book one day? She has been raised on classics. Our sons love the good books too. We have our share of Archie comics also – mostly older ones – every diet needs a bit of junk food on the side. 😉

    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

