Fighting The World

IMG_0334

Today, I was sitting here studying (and thinking about how much I really don’t like memorizing things) when a thought occured to me.

We are an extremely lazy generation.

I am a teenager. The long years of being stuck between adulthood and teen years and really having no idea what this is all about. The truth is about a hundred years ago, we’d be adults at this age. In bible times, boys were considered men at the age of 13. 200 years back, I would be about a year away from marriage-age in some places. Now, anyone under college age has the excuse of being a teenager. We can be immature, we can mess up. All because we are “Just teenagers.” What happened?

We live in a fallen world. It’s not the world is more corrupted now than it ever was, but now it’s ok to be corrupted. Our world has created a twisted black hole of years between childhood and adulthood and made it into teenagers. Even Christians  tend to think teenage years are just times to have fun and then grow up when the time comes. Well the time has come. The time is now.

There should be a large difference than the way teenage Christians act, and un-Christian teenagers. No, that doesn’t mean we need to stay sheltered and hide from the world. We are to face the teenage years. And fight. The battle against wasting and embracing teenagehood is here, and we need to fight.

The Word said, “Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity”
(1 Timothy 4:12 ).

As a teen, I tend to think  that nobody going to listen to me cause I am young. The bible tends to address otherwise. Let no one look down on you because of your age. Instead set an example of Christ, even in your young age. In speech, we can honor Christ. In our conduct, we can point to the fact we’ve been made new. In love, we can show we’ve seen a greater love. In faith, we can show we were made for another world. In purity, we can honor Christ. In all, we can show the world we’ve been made new.

Sometimes showing Christ’s love is doing something, like caring for someone or being unselfish. Sometimes it’s sharing the gospel. But in all, we are to just in everything we do show our heart is no longer for this world. We are different. We have the king.

I struggle with this a lot. I don’t exactly show the maturity and Godliness I should all the time. So that’s why I wrote this. To tell myself and everyone else the truth. Let’s do something. Let’s be hardcore. Let’s put down the days of teenage foolishness and (while having fun) become the soldiers God has called us to be.

6 thoughts on “Fighting The World

  1. Yes ma’am!! I’m a mommy in my almost 30’s….shhhh!!! 😉 I can tell you that my teenage years were most certainly my black hole that continued to and still does continue to spring leaks. If my voice had been valued and I had not been reminded of my unimportance by seemingly every adult I may have stepped into my power long ago as you are trying to now. I strive to value my children’s voice now because I remember having so much to say and give and then being told that I was just a silly child. Listen to YOUR voice. Let your spiritual tug take you to higher thoughts and brighter days. Your words here a powerful and wise. Keep going 🙂

  2. SUCH a great post, Neeley!! Absolutely touched my heart. At age 20, I guess I technically no longer qualify as a teenager;) but this is definitely still something that I struggle with. Thank you for sharing your heart and for encouraging the rest of us to start really living our faith. ❤

  3. This is my new favourite post, hahaha!

    “There should be a large difference than the way teenage Christians act, and un-Christian teenagers. No, that doesn’t mean we need to stay sheltered and hide from the world. We are to face the teenage years. And fight. The battle against wasting and embracing teenagehood is here, and we need to fight.”

    WHAT a stimulating, convicting, encouraging truth! Have you read the book “Do Hard Things”? It covers a lot of what you wrote about here. I highly recommend it!

  4. Sweet friend,

    I agree, Neeley….so much. You wrote: “It’s not the world is more corrupted now than it ever was, but now it’s ok to be corrupted. ” That is so, so true in our current society. May God ignite a flame in the hearts of the youth in coming generations (and ours) for His glory and for truly laying down their lives…not waiting to start “really living as unto the Lord” until their “older.”

    Love you, dear!
    Looking to Him,
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

