Thankfullness

I don’t deserve this. I don’t deserve this mercy.

It’s thanksgiving and I am truly thankful. Everyday I mess up badly. Everyday I sin. Everyday I stumble. I’m far from perfect. Even last night and this morning, I was angry, selfish, and full of sin. I’m the opposite of perfect.

Yet, I am thankful I am able to say that today I am a saint.

I am thankful for salvation and assurance in Christ Jesus. I am thankful for two Christian parents investing in my life daily. I am thankful for the two best brothers in the entire world. I am thankful for the gift of a beautiful world, filled with color. I am thankful for sweet friends and all the wonderful times we have together. I am thankful for an incredible Christ-centered Church, Church family, and youth group. I am thankful for time and for memories. I am thankful for laughter, and the wonderful gift of hilarious moments. I am thankful for long books and the ability to write. I am thankful for the ability to love.

Giving thanks isn’t just for those moments seated around the table, with family. In those circumstances, it’s really easy to give thanks. I truly am aware I do not give thanks in all circumstance, especially if they are not going the way I wish but I am called”Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18 ESV).

Today, it’s Thanksgiving. Today I will give thanks because I live an undeserved life. And in the future I hope to learn this live with a heart of thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving!!! (and merry Christmas season starting today!!!)

2 thoughts on “Thankfullness

  1. “Today I will give thanks because I live an undeserved life.” Amen! Thank you for reminding me that it’s all Jesus, not us. Sometimes (maybe most of the time) I forget that. Oh, and thank you for that sweet comment you left on my blog! I really, really appreciate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

