Peace in Politics

The bumper stickers, commercials, Facebook junk, those signs in people’s yards, and adds are all screaming one thing: It’s election year. It’s the year every American gets all involved in life, liberty, and freedom.

There are a lot of things I don’t like about our government nowadays. Slowly, I see less God in our government. Also, I’m not a fan of either candidates. But I’m not going to worry. I’m not going to get mad. I’m not going to rally. I’m not even going to say who I would vote for if I could. That is because I have faith that the election is in the hands of God and I have no need to worry.

Yes, I’ll vote when the time comes and support the side I am for.

No, I won’t write on why I disagree or agree with the current president. No, I won’t speak against the president or say harsh words. While the current president might not be my choice of candidate, I am going to highly respect and honor him, because he is the man God wants to rule right now.

The verse with the most biblical truth on this? Romans 13: 1-3:

 Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God. Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment.

Verse one is clear. We are to all be in subject to governing leaders. We are to obey whoever the Lord places in the president’s seat. Even if we disagree, I’m not going to say a word against the president. I respect that man, because he is who the Lord has placed for me to obey. He is my authority. And I am to obey his laws as long as they don’t make me go against my God.

Verse two screams truth also. There is no authority except those who have been appointed by the Lord. Pretty clear, there.

Verse three is the one that hits me the most. “Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment.” So if we resist or speak against the authorities God appoints, there is judgement. The president is the leader the Lord’s given America. And we must respect, not resist him or speak against him. For saying things against him is like saying things against God, as God is the appointer of all leaders.

Next election, I will be voting. Just don’t expect me to speaking against the candidates. God calls us to be subject to our authorities. And if the candidate I don’t like wins, I won’t be mad. I won’t fear. Because holds this country and rules it in his hands. Why are we to be afraid?

While so many people worry and get mad over all this Government talk, I sit in peace. God almighty is in control and holds these presidents in His hands. With His guidance, there is actually peace in politics.

3 thoughts on “Peace in Politics

  1. Hmm… Those are definitely good points, and I Agree with much of what you said.

    However, I think there is another aspect (at least in a government like ours) where – although we are to be respectful and God-honoring in speech – we may present ‘arguments’ against a particular candidate (or current position holder), or petitions to other authorities in the government if said candidate/governor is ruling in a completely Unlawful fashion (especially if said leader passes laws or supports measures that go against the commandments of our Lord and King)…

    But again, you are correct in our ultimately needing to trust God and respect(and – to a Biblically sound extent – submit to) the governing authorities that have been placed over us… WITHOUT grumbling or complaining (Philippians 2:14-16 😉

    1 Timothy 2:1-6, Matthew 6:34, Psalm 20:7, Psalm 31:14… Psalm 117 🙂

    1. I most defiantely agree! It is right to support or speak aganist the canidate you like/dislike, and if the president is leading aganist God than we must defiantely stand up aganist him! But I feel like there is so much bashing towards the current president nowadays that should not be there even if we disagree, because he is the man the Lord wants to rule!

      1. Ah, yes, I see. You’re right, I’ve heard (and am guilty of) negative remarks that are/were not gracious or very edifying on that subject 😉

        Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

