This Real Hiding Place

The other day I started reading “The Hiding Place” by Corrie ten Boom and I have to say it’s exactly what my soul has needed. Isn’t it amazing how the Lord leads us exactly to what our souls need?  In recent days I’ve been praying for two things. The first is loving those who are difficult. The other is about increasing my faith towards Him.  Simply to have deeper faith to trust in Him whether happiness or suffering. I’ve always known this Christian life would be tough and I wanted to have joy and a peaceful soul whatever the cause.

Yesterday I was reading and I came to a quote:

“Even as the angry vengeful thoughts boiled through me, I saw the sin of them. Jesus Christ had died for this man; was I going to ask for more? Lord Jesus, I prayed, forgive me and help me to forgive him….Jesus, I cannot forgive him. Give me your forgiveness….And so I discovered that it is not on our forgiveness any more than on our goodness that the world’s healing hinges, but on His. When He tells us to love our enemies, He gives along with the command, the love itself.”

This was Corrie praying for a German. The same people who had put her in that concentration camp and tortured her. My eyes flashed back to the death gate at the Camp I’d visited this summer and the anger I’d felt. How I wanted these people dead for making this earthly hell. And Corrie, who was a prisoner herself, learned to forgive and love them. And I can’t think of forgiveness for these people I never saw.

Immediately I lost it. I saw the bitterness inside myself and the unlovable people in my life I don’t want to forgive. I couldn’t help but fall to my knees and prayed for more love in my heart. I need to forgive the unforgivable.

The other thing that the Lord showed me through this book was He was my hiding place! One quote reads:

“This is what the past is for! Every experience God gives us, every person He puts in our lives is the perfect preparation for the future that only He can see (Corrie ten Boom).”

I want faith like this to see that all circumstances have reasons. So many times I catch myself asking God, “Why?” But all things do have a reason and He has a purpose for every grain of sand in its proper place. Because I know that I will never know the reason for current circumstances I must learn to stand firm in this faith. For my future only He can see.

This led me to praying for the Lord to give me faith in my weakness to simply trust him. Later I was reading Job for my bible reading plan and I came across a verse I feel like the Lord spoke to me directly:

 “Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?
Tell me, if you have understanding.(Job 38:4 ESV)”

It’s the truth. Who am I to question the Lord, for where was I when he laid the foundations of the earth?Another verse which helped me to see how weak I am, but how powerful and amazing is He!

I am so thankful the Lord has answered my desire to know him more by laying before me these wonderful resources. I’d recommend the Hiding Place to you if you haven’t read. It’s a beautiful testimony of God’s faithfulness in the worst of times.

To Him be all the glory forever and ever and ever and ever!

One thought on “This Real Hiding Place

  1. Oh my goodness. I am almost speechless with the knowledge that this is just what I needed to read this morning. Yes, I am several days late in reading it, but as you said, isn’t is amazing how the Lord leads us to exactly what our souls need? =) And indeed it is.
    I have been struggling with many of these same things myself, in one way or another, but this post has put everything back into proper perspective and I have been once again reminded that God is on His throne and HE along knows my future and what I need to prepare for it, and He is all-wise in allowing my current circumstances. ❤
    Thank you, Neeley:)

Leave a Reply

