We Shall Get There Someday

Summer 2008

Like any young girl, my whole life I’ve wanted to grow up. I always wanted to be older than I was and I always thought my current age was terrible. I remember being in kindergarten and all I wanted was to be one of the fifth graders in school who seemed so big, old, and smart. But when you finally get there, you don’t seem so smart at all.

Sometimes I wish I would’ve paid more attention being young. There’s so many things I wish I could remember like our old house, the days of public kindergarten, birthdays, and Christmas as a tiny kid. I remember a lot of things, but I wish it didn’t keep getting so far away from my reach. And truly I do miss being only a kid. I miss the golden days, but I’m pretty glad I never have to go back. And it’s fun to re-experience the thrill of childhood with my little brother and one day my own kids.

Now as a teenager, there’s this cause to feel young and old. I feel more young than anything. I’ve discovered right now as many thoughts go through my brain, truly I’m content to be where I am right now. Growing up is not something that you control, nor even notice. It just happens.  Everyday, it happens. I’ve been through many stages in my life, but now I simply don’t want to grow up but I don’t want to stay young forever.

Better said, I don’t mind the growing but I’m not about to rush through it. There is no hurry. I will grow up so there’s no need to rush it. I mean, I have been growing and learning my entire life and I’m glad I’ve gotten through some times in my growing up already.

Rivers know this:
there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.
Winnie the Pooh

Leave a Reply

