The Reason I Write

“Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living, it’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope.”  ―    Dr. Seuss

I’ve been writing stories since I knew how to write and telling stories before then. Scribbling in notebooks, writing stories, journalling, and essay writing are all ways where feelings and thoughts can be shared. Personally, things I write come out better than things I say. I am prone to ramble in real life, but I can write exactly what I want.

Something I’ve learned over time is no one wants to read something already done. No one wants to read rambles of ordinary life. People read because they long for excitement that isn’t found in reality, and stories that aren’t everyday circumstances. A lot of people read to escape from the reality of life. I read because I love to read stories of things I’ve never heard and stories of people I’ll never meet.

Nothing you’ll ever write will be entirely new, as characters, themes, and circumstances you get from life. But it’s our job to use our dreams and ideas to turn these ordinary ideas into fantasy. My goal as I writer is to be original. Because in modern times the same old story isn’t going to capture reader’s attention or the publisher’s attention. You’ve got to reach and create something original. You’ve got to tell the truth and write what your heart and dreams give you.

Even in literature and art, no man who bothers about originality will ever be original: whereas if you simply try to tell the truth (without caring twopence how often it has been told before) you will, nine times out of ten, become original without ever having noticed it. ~C. S. Lewis
Because as long as people keep the joy of fantasy, we’ll still have great books, great writers, and great characters. Because sure fantasy isn’t a part of ordinary life, but well people don’t want to read normal day life.
My goal as a writer is to give the reader something they’ve never read before, character’s that seem like people you meet, and stories that last. I want my books to be print, to be real books people can hold their breath until the last chapter. In all honestly I’m not very creative, but my goal is to simply write.
That is why I write.
Leave a Reply

