Something Worth Dying For

In the grand scheme of things, there’s not much worth devoting your life too. Athletes train for sports, but soon retire and most are forgotten. Few authors are remembered past their deaths. Politics are always changing and never stable. Everything has its end. That is, except Christ. The Gospel is the only thing we live for that is worth devoting your life and even dying for. It’s the one religion, the one truth that has always been there since creation. And it’s something worth dying for.

I’m far from perfect, I am often angry, and quite often sin. Yet Christ, perfect and blameless, humbled himself to human form and died on the cross, bearing all the world’s sin for our sake. Then, he rose again on the third day, overcoming the grave. It’s true that in Him, we have died with Him and are raised with Him and receive eternity with Him in heaven, that we do not deserve. That is the thing I live for, the one thing worth devoting all myself to.

Yet in this race, my goal, which I am far from, is to always love throughout my life. As it reads in Corinthians:

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.
(1 Corinthians 13:1-3ESV)

For to love one another is the first commandment with a promise. While I can never be perfect, Christ is always perfect. So with all of my weakness and all of His power my goal is to live a life of worship for Christ and love in His name, and proclaim the radical truth to all people. And on one glorious day I will die and be with my Christ.

One thought on “Something Worth Dying For

Leave a Reply

